What is social learning?

Today, e-learning solutions have undergone numerous evolutions and now have a wide range of functionalities. E-learning is an increasingly popular teaching method. Many schools or companies use MOOCs to deliver their training to a large number of learners. Faced with this growing demand, the e-learning market must face the following challenges: breaking the isolation of the learner and making him/her active in the learning process.

Definition of social learning

Social learning refers to a learning method that focuses on the interactions between different members of the group. Many studies have shown that social learning is more effective than other learning methods.

In the 1970s, the psychologist Albert Bandura developed his theory of social learning. It emphasizes the importance of observing and imitating the behaviours, attitudes and emotions of others in the learning process. This is peer learning, also known as crowd learning or collaborative learning.

In this mode of learning, each member of the group is both a learner and a trainer. Interactions between individuals allow for more explanation and clarification. This learning method is transversal because it can be applied to any field of activity. Any member of the group can contribute to solving a problem.

Social learning promotes teamwork while allowing each member of the group to be involved. Being based on mutual aid, this learning method allows the development of a feeling of belonging to the group. The synergy between individuals thus improves the overall performance of the group and facilitates learning.

Social learning helps to improve e-learning

E-learning has undergone huge developments since its invention. Today, there are many tools available for designing course modules and integrating a wide variety of formats of teaching materials. Despite all the progress made in the field of e-learning, the problem of the learner's loneliness still remains.

The quality of teaching materials is not enough and the social dimension must be taken into account in the learning process. Pedagogy is much more effective when the learner is involved and intervenes in the learning process than in situations where he or she remains passive. Social learning addresses the dehumanized nature of traditional e-learning solutions by reintroducing the learner into the learning process.

The democratization of Internet-connected devices and social networks has enabled the advent of social learning. Today, some e-learning solutions have social functionalities and collaborative tools allowing learners to interact with the trainer or with their peers. This makes it possible to compensate for the shortcomings of some e-learning solutions and to involve the learner in the training courses.

Apolearn has designed an LMS platform focused on exchange and interaction for training and higher education professionals. Ergonomic and easy to use, it has an interface inspired by social networks to facilitate communication between trainers and learners. Because pedagogy and learning are at the heart of our preoccupations, we have created a complete digital learning solution that puts the human at the heart of training.

To know more about it
Free Trial

Qu’est-ce que le social learning ?

Aujourd’hui, les solutions d’e-learning ont connu de nombreuses évolutions et disposent désormais de très nombreuses fonctionnalités. L’e-learning est une mode pédagogique de plus en plus plébiscité. De nombreuses écoles ou entreprises ont recours aux MOOCs pour diffuser leurs formations auprès d’un grand nombre d’apprenant. Face à cette demande croissante, le marché de l’e-learning doit faire face aux enjeux suivants : rompre l’isolement de l’apprenant et le rendre actif dans le processus d’apprentissage.

Définition du social learning

Le social learning désigne une méthode d’apprentissage centrée sur les interactions entre les différents membres du groupe. De nombreuses études ont démontré que le social learning est plus efficace que les autres méthodes d’apprentissage.

Dans les années 1970, le psychologue Albert Bandura avait développé sa théorie de l’apprentissage social. Celle-ci met en avant l’importance de l’observation et de l’imitation des comportements, attitudes et émotions des autres dans le processus d’apprentissage. Il s’agit de l’apprentissage entre pairs, également connue sous les noms d’apprentissage par la foule ou d’apprentissage collaboratif.

Dans ce mode d’apprentissage, chacun des membres du groupe est à la fois apprenant et formateur. Les interactions entre les individus permettent d’obtenir plus d’explications et d’éclaircissement. Cette méthode d’apprentissage est transversale car elle peut s’appliquer à tout domaine d’activité. N’importe quel membre du groupe peut apporter sa contribution pour résoudre un problème.

Le social learning favorise le travail en équipe tout en permettant l’engagement de chaque membre du groupe. Etant basé sur l’entraide, ce mode d’apprentissage permet le développement d’un sentiment d’appartenance au groupe. La synergie entre les individus permet ainsi d’améliorer les performances globales du groupe et de faciliter l’apprentissage.

Le social learning permet d’améliorer l’e-learning

L’e-learning a connu d’énormes évolutions depuis son invention. On dispose aujourd’hui de très nombreux outils pour concevoir des modules de cours et intégrer une grande variété de formats de supports pédagogiques. Malgré tous les progrès accomplis dans le domaine de l’e-learning, subsiste toujours le problème de la solitude de l’apprenant.

La qualité des supports pédagogiques ne suffit pas et il convient de prendre en compte la dimension sociale dans le processus d’apprentissage. La pédagogie est bien plus efficace lorsque l’apprenant est impliqué et intervient dans le processus d’apprentissage que les situations où il demeure passif. Le social learning permet faire face au caractère déshumanisé des solutions d’e-learning traditionnelles car il permet de réintroduire l’apprenant dans le processus d’apprentissage.

La démocratisation des appareils connectés à Internet les réseaux sociaux ont permis l’avènement du social learning. Aujourd’hui, certaines solutions d’e-learning disposent de fonctionnalités sociales et d’outils collaboratifs permettant aux apprenants d’interagir avec le formateur ou avec leurs pairs. Cela permet ainsi de pallier aux insuffisances de certaines solutions d’e-learning et de faire participer l’apprenant dans les formations.

Apolearn a conçu une plateforme LMS centrée sur les échanges et les interactions pour les professionnels de la formation et de l’enseignement supérieur. Ergonomique et simple d’utilisation, elle dispose d’une interface inspirée des réseaux sociaux pour faciliter la communication entre les formateurs et les apprenants. Parce que la pédagogie et l’apprentissage sont au cœur de nos préoccupation, nous avons créé une solution complète de digital learning qui met l’humain au cœur des formations.

En savoir plus
Essai gratuit